The Instagram World.

Who are they even? And why do you feel as if ‘their’ likes, follows and comments mold you into the person that you are behind your computer or cellphone screen?

Guys! This topic is actually so relevant in my life right now, and I’m sure that so many of you will be able to relate to it. Perhaps it will only click in once you’ve started reading this, and it will hit home and have you realizing – ‘oh, crap…I feel this way too’.

SAMSUNG CSC
I’ve somehow (only now) come to the point where I actually couldn’t care less if you like my Instagram posts or not, whether you follow me..or not. I’m at the point where I don’t care if my number of followings are higher than followers and if only two people like my posts.

WHY DO WE ALLOW FOR OTHER PEOPLE’S OPINIONS TO INFLUENCE THE WAY THAT WE FEEL???

Out of all honesty, I don’t know about 95% of my followers on Instagram. I follow people who I feel will influence me in a positive manner each day, or moms that I can relate to, or companies that I love and even just people who have beautiful content that make me happy. I don’t follow people for the sake of following. But, there are just so many beautiful moms out there that I honestly feel like I know from their social media accounts, and I LOVE IT!

ea9a74f4155b71d6bd4a05eb87fdf6d0
BUT, lately, I’ve found myself in this negative Instagram space. I find myself feeling disappointed or let down when I’ve taken time to make a nice post and have taken a lovely photo of something and only get a handful of likes. I feel like my post isn’t worthy when I ask a question, and don’t get any comments with answers. You’re either laughing at me right now or nodding your head because you’re totally in the same boat?

Some days I have my phone buzzing non-stop after posting a photo on Instagram (often this means that I have a handful of randoms who didn’t even take a moment to read my post but rather just thought the photo was ‘nice’ and double tapped’.), and other times I have 30 likes that are actually meaningful – people who actually truly enjoyed reading my content and took time to appreciate it. So, WHY on earth do we go out of our way to then delete that post just because it didn’t get as much attention as the others?

WHY DO WE CARE?

Oh, us humans. We live on such a high horse with such pride. We allow such prestigious things to capture us, and it’s so difficult to change those ways.
But, seriously – I’m done with feeling this way. I’m done with Instagram having the control to leave me feeling insignificant when in fact, if more people had the opportunity to scroll past your post, they would love it – but they just haven’t seen it. Know that by every photo you post, every word you share – you’re influencing at least one person – and actually, that’s ok!
I remember back to when I first started using Instagram – purely for my own personal photos and for my friends to enjoy, it was actually about ME, MYSELF. Now, somehow it has turned to being a competition between one mom to another, or one blogger to another – and in fact, who even cares??? Literally.. NOBODY. And that’s the beauty of when we use our brains instead of our hearts sometimes.. we actually allow for ourselves to see the reality in situations.

14289843_1211257945561394_1877959258225809190_o
I feel quite emotional typing this.. maybe I feel slightly embarrassed to be admitting all of this online. But, I’ve just been feeling totally fed up with myself, and after a weekend of spending time doing some home renovations with hubby, I’ve so enjoyed my life away from my phone, away from social media and focusing on the ‘real’ things in life. Instagram is WONDERFUL for sharing the memories you created, BUT you cannot be creating memories while you’re so absorbed in sharing the old ones.
So, this being said – I’m taking control over my REAL life now, and NOT allowing for Instagram and social media to influence me in a NEGATIVE way. I’m not leaving, not at all! I’m just not going to allow it to smother me, and to let it make me feel like I am not as good as the rest, when actually it’s all (as the internet says) about algorithm.
So, keep this in mind when you start to feel like somehow your life isn’t as great to others as the rest -because it is. It totally is!

Love — @onemodernmom

2 thoughts on “The Instagram World.

    1. I am so sorry I am only responding now! I have just figured out how to see all of these comments and realized I hadn’t approved any of them yet. So very true though. Social media is tough and can be tough on us if we allow it to. x

      Like

Leave a Reply

