A Morning of Appreciation.

A couple weeks back I found an invitation to the Kids Emporium Bloggers breakfast in my email inbox. Having always loved Kids Emporium since my journey through pregnancy and motherhood, it was more than that – it was two other more important things. Firstly, I remember back to about a year ago, my mom had visited and left behind a little cut out of Lauren’s (founder of KE) inspirational story of how she started Kids Emporium, and her journey to becoming such a successful ‘mompreneur’. Back then, I felt motivated and encouraged by her article in the newspaper. Secondly, being recognized as a blogger felt totally rewarding.

SAMSUNG CSC
Lauren De Swardt inspiring us!

Fast forward to today. Leaving the house toddler-less, and having a reason to slap on some makeup, straighten my hair and to feel pretty felt pretty damn good. Arriving at a beautiful location, and being greeted by a room full of amazing bloggers was magic! Knowing that we all had totally different stories to tell, but one thing in common – being moms was refreshing. All open, raw and real moms who aren’t afraid to speak about the realities of parenting – the good, the bad and the ugly.

SAMSUNG CSC
With the beautiful Cassan Ferguson from http://www.leatherjacketfoxes.com

I think I experienced about 20 emotions in the three hours I was there. I felt appreciated, respected and honoured. I felt that for one of the first times in my three years of blogging, was it actually seen for what it truly is. Being a blogger is hard work. With it being one of my main forms of income, and where I spend many hours of each day – I finally felt like somebody understood what it takes to create a platform for moms to turn to to feel like THEY are understood and where they can relate and realize that what they are going through is absolutely normal and that they are NOT ALONE!

SAMSUNG CSCSAMSUNG CSC
Lauren has honestly left me feeling like I am worthy. That WE are worthy. This morning wasn’t all about blogging. It was about us. The real moms that are sitting behind the computer screens. The moms that juggle kids, school drops, errands, work, cooking, home maintenance and still try to keep themselves remotely sane. The moms that find themselves awake at night rocking their crying baby to sleep just praying that the other kids in the house won’t wake up because of the noise. The moms who work so incredibly hard and have to sacrifice time with their kids because they need to earn a salary. The moms who work from home, and the moms who stay home with their kids. She made us feel that none of it is easy, and none of it should ever be underestimated – because no matter which mom you are, you work bloody hard each day.

SAMSUNG CSC

I still feel emotional even typing this, but I felt like I needed to touch on today, because I truly did leave feeling like I haven’t felt in such a long time. It was a power house in that room today. Women that were not afraid to speak about their feelings. Strong women from all walks of life, together, in one room all motivating, encouraging and helping one another.

SAMSUNG CSC
We walked away with not only have had one of the best breakfasts I’ve ever had, good coffee, and mimosa’s. It wasn’t the divine gift boxes we received or the gorgeous cactus. It was about the personalized notes of encouragement – it was about the support and the words that we left with that will remain with me forever. New friendships, and support groups.

SAMSUNG CSC
From today onwards, I pledge to always be real on my blog. Because if I can encourage, motivate or give ONE mom some advice that will change her life – then that is enough for me. We all deserve to feel worthy and loved as moms. We all have our days that we feel like crap, days where we feel like we are the worst moms to our kids, maybe a terrible wife/partner – but even we have our bad days – and that’s ok! And we need to know that it’s ok.

Thank you to Lauren De Swardt and the Kids Emporium team for leaving me feeling appreciated and respected. For a beautiful morning that I will never forget. You ladies are gold! And to the sponsors – Nutribullet SA, Elizabeth Arden & Thompsons Holiday, THANK YOU!

 

— One Modern Mom x

Leave a Reply

