Be Your Own Chef – UCOOK SA

When I landed up on the Instagram page of UCOOK SA, I needed to find out more. Could such a company with such a clever concept truly be local? Or was I just getting ahead of myself? Either way, I was on a mission to find out.

_DSC2943

My day was made, and my mind was slightly blown away when I checked out their website and saw all of their delicious meal options! You can only imagine my happiness when they told me to select THREE meals to try out! The entire online process through ordering was so simple. I gave them the date and time frame on that day that I would need my order to be delivered, and it arrived punctually and FRESH.

_DSC2990

I must admit that it did sort of feel like an adults version of Christmas day, or perhaps a moms version! The thought of having to eliminate a grocery shop for three meals was such a treat! The UCOOK SA website is super easy to navigate, and it explains everything well. Their Menu is divided up into ‘Low-Carb’, ‘Rustic’ and ‘Veg’, so I decided to choose a meal from each category.

_DSC2748

The beauty of UCOOK is that they change up their meals every now and then. That way, for families that order frequently, you get to change up your dinners. I love that! Sidenote: I would totally cheat and order this for a dinner party to just cook up myself.

_DSC3056

So how does it work?

You log onto https://www.ucook.co.za , browse their list of meals and order! Each meal comes with it’s very own beautifully laid out recipe card as well as it’s life span (i.e. cook within 2 days/cook within 4 days). Each meal is delivered to your door with its fresh ingredients in a brown paper bag in a cooler box. Your box will arrive on a Monday morning, ready for your week of cooking ahead! This gets scheduled on your account on the website.

_DSC2986
One does have to choose a minimum of 3 meals per week, however, once you’ve tried it, you’ll be quite content with that option! It really is such a convenient service. One of my favourite things about UCOOK is that it cuts out so much food wastage in my home. You decide on your portion numbers (how many people you need to feed), and they give you just enough food for a very generous meal per person. We can be so bad in our home with wasting food, and it is the one thing I just get so frustrated with myself about. This way, the ingredients are the perfect quantity for the dish you’re making, and nothing will be left behind in the fridge!

_DSC2938

Onto my experience… I could sum it all up in two words, ‘YUM’ and ‘GOURMET’. I’ve never had such a happy hubby after dinner. He was so excited about the meals that I chose, and when were ribs and gourmet chicken fillet not the way to a mans heart? These meals are amazing, and if following the recipe card, you just can’t go wrong! I must admit that I felt quite proud of myself after each meal, because I made something I really enjoyed and that my entire family loved too!

 

I often struggle with making sure that I have the correct amount of greens, carbs, protein, etc in each meal, and I at times overdo one and almost totally forget about the other – UCOOK has it so well planned. I was amazed at all of the delicious, HEALTHY ingredients that were in the little brown paper bag. Fresh, nutritious and clearly there for a very good reason! These meals were definitely created with families health in mind.

_DSC3050

I also love that they encourage good initiatives, like ‘Meat Free Mondays’ and they also have meat-free meals available all of the time! Another thing that totally amazed me was how quickly the meat cooked! UCOOK chooses the perfect cuts of meat, which are ideal for each meal. I was actually shocked at how the ribs could cook from raw to perfection in 2 minutes and how my chicken fillets were more tender than any piece of chicken I have ever cooked before in the exact amount of time they mentioned on the recipe card. UCOOK, you know how to blow this mamas mind.

_DSC3118
All in all, I could ramble on for ages – but I think you actually just need to try these meals yourself! They sure know how to keep up with the seasons and the healthiest, and most delicious meals. Check out their website now to see some of the most delicious meals I’ve ever seen – it’s like taking your family out to an expensive restaurant for a scrumptious meal, except now you can do it yourself, from home, without a fancy chef for half the price! https://ucook.co.za/

_DSC3072

I’m actually quite excited to hear your thoughts on UCOOK, because I was blown away by the service and the quality of food that was delivered to my doorstep. And hubby keeps asking me when we’re having it again – GOOD SIGN!

BE SURE TO SUBSCRIBE ON THEIR WEBSITE, AND YOU WILL GET 30% OFF YOUR ORDER WITH THE CODE: #onemodernmom

30% (1)

You can also follow them on Instagram to be inspired daily by their delicious meals and photographs of their food: @ucooksa

And, also don’t forget to keep up to date with them on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ucooksa/

Thank you @angievictoriarea for the photographs! You can follow me on Instagram too at @onemodernmom x

Leave a Reply

