Break In’s & Blessings.

I’m feeling quite emotional this morning. We woke up to finding that our car had been broken into last night. That always leaves one feeling unsettled, especially when it has happened at your own home. The thought of some stranger invading my personal space, leaves my skin crawling.

Olly’s bedroom is very close to the entrance of our house, which means that all of this took place just a few short steps away from where he was peacefully sleeping. It must have happened at early hours of the morning, as these things usually do. Wow! How things change when you have a child.

13662314_1163573980329791_6871817601121336252_o

Once the break in was brought to my attention, I instantly scanned my brain of what could have been left in the car of Olly’s. I feel that we often take things in the car that are special to him, as he always loves taking them along for the drive. As I went to put on his shoes for school, he moaned, and begged to wear his new Shooshoos he got just last week. Just then, I got this anxious feeling in my gut. I jumped up and went to the car, knowing that we had left them in the car when we had got home the night before because he was so tired and his shoes were just lying on the floor of the car.

I got back into the house, and Olly asked me again for his shoes. I responded by explaining to him that somebody had got into our car and took his shoes. He burst into tears and asked me multiple questions about who, and why would they take his special shoes? My heart just broke as I saw how something that meant something to him could affect him just so much. Only being two and a half years old, and knowing that, at the end of the day, they are replaceable, it didn’t matter – the point is that he totally understands a situation and can still be hurt by small things that don’t matter to so many people.

13661765_1163574126996443_7287973255585722660_o

We never leave valuables in the car for this very reason, but it seems that lately, robbers just want whatever they can get their hands on. They then resell for an insulting cost so they can earn some money. GRRR!!!  However, over time, we all get a bit slack, and we were more worried about getting our overtired toddler into bed. But, we certainly have learnt our lesson.

At the end of the day, what matters is that we were all safe, and thank God they didn’t intend on coming into our home last night. I am so grateful that it was only materialistic things that were taken and that my little family is just fine.

I feel as if this post hasn’t really all made too much sense, and I also feel that it has no flow to it, but I don’t care today. Today, my point is that family is so much more important than materialistic objects. The emotions I am experiencing are no doubt attached to the thoughts of evil and bad being so close to my child. But THANK YOU GOD for placing your Angels to protect and guard our home and family last night. It humbles me and really makes me realize that no matter what we have, our family is priceless.

13613542_1163575776996278_3113917304025930718_o

So here is a lengthy reminder, to never keep anything in your car at night, no matter how safe you think your area may be.

 

HAPPY MONDAY!!!

— Lisa

One thought on “Break In’s & Blessings.

Leave a Reply

