DIY Valentine’s Day Makeup

In case you mama’s didn’t realize today is Valentine’s Day. I hope you all have lovely plans. I am going to be cuddling up with my main little guy Elijah, letting him give me extra kisses.
So I wanted to do a little makeup tutorial for those of you who are going on a date and are stuck for ideas. I shall be doing Lisa’s makeup as she is going for a dreamy, romantic picnic on the beach. I am going to keep it as simple as possible as most of us have at least one baba hanging of our hips and another sticking jam covered hands through our makeup collection.

Starting with clean, clean skin, I prefer to use a micelle water so as not to strip the skin, load your face up with a moisturizer best suited to your skin. Once that has sunken in, apply a primer. I used Stila HD Beauty Balm on Lisa. I then used my beauty blender by Real Techniques to smooth a glowy foundation over her skin. I used Stila Aqua Glow in light as a beach picnic is all about the shimmer! As this is a quick makeup application I am using the foundation over her eyelids and under eye where I would normally use a concealer or correcter. Next I quickly set the foundation with Essence Stay All Day translucent fixing powder, a direct dupe for MAC’s Prep+Prime transparent finishing powder (I have both in my kit).

 

Then it is onto eyes. Eyebrows are a must but please no Kardashian caterpillars or Frieda Kahol wannabe’s. I lightly filled in Lisa’s brows with Essence ‘How To Make Brows WOW’ with the colour Love ’em all. Next I used Palladio Crushed Metallic Shadow in Meteor over the lids going half way up to her brows, blending very well, up and outwards with my MAC 217 blending brush. I find this is one of the most important steps to getting a flawless makeup finish. I then ran the brush with the same powder lightly under Lisa’s eyes as we went for a no liner look for the perfect beach vibe.
Then mascara. Loads of it. I used Maybelline The Falsies Volum’ Express mascara and boy did it do the trick. Cheeks next. I used my very faithful Smashbox Step-By-Step Contour Sticks. Run the darkest shade along the cheek from the middle of your ear to just before your mouth and blend! Either with your fingers or a beauty blender. Then draw the bronze shade above that and blend again. Then taking the faithful highlighter one draw on the top of your cheek bones where the sun would naturally hit your face. And blend. Then I used MAC Mineralize Skinfinish powder highlighter in Soft and Gentle  with my beauty blender over the lightest part to create an extra glow. I used Stila Convertible Color creme blush in Lillium over the apples of Lisa’s cheeks to give a little bit of that “I am so healthy and run every day” look. Which I am sure she does anyway!
Last is lips. I did a red lip of course as it is the day of love and kissing. When wearing red lipstick you need smooth, flake free lips which is why I started of with a sugar lip scrub from Beauty Treats. Then I took The Body shop New Orleans Scarlet Matte lipstick and rubbed it into Lisa’s lips to make a nice stain. I told her to take along a good lip balm to use to reapply during her date.
thumbnail_000-2-of-1

Mama’s, Valentine’s Day is about having fun and feeling beautiful. Even if you don’t have special plans, why not try this makeup look to surprise your partner when he gets home? Or if you don’t have a partner do it for yourself to see how truly gorgeous you can be.

 

Enjoy this day of love.

Lots of love,

Angela

 

Leave a Reply

