Postnatal Depression – The Real Deal

Many of my readers have approached me in the past couple of months requesting an article on Postnatal Depression. Because I never walked that path, I contacted a local blogger, Kim Ingpen from Overcoming Mom to chat to you about her experiences on this topic. I truly hope that this helps the moms who are currently experiencing this, and the moms who may potentially go through this in the future.

The Statistics:

‘According to the Centers for Disease Control, 11 to 20% of women who give birth each year have postpartum depression symptoms. If you settled on an average of 15% of four million live births in the US annually, this would mean approximately 600,000 women get PPD each year in the United States alone.

In fact, more women will suffer from postpartum depression and related illnesses in a year than the combined number of new cases for men and women of tuberculosis, leukemia, multiple sclerosis, Parkinson’s disease, Alzheimer’s disease, lupus, and epilepsy.

You might be interested to know, however, what’s missing from the CDC’s estimate.  Women who miscarry or whose babies are stillborn are also susceptible to postpartum depression, but the CDC’s report only looks at live births, so if you consider that 15% of the 6 million women who have clinically recognized pregnancies annually will get PPD, that’s 900,000 women each year.’ – Source: http://postpartumprogress.org/the-facts-about-postpartum-depression/

Dearest Lisa , has asked me to write a article on overcoming PND – post natal depression , post postpartum depression ,post traumatic stress syndrome, all the same to me I’d say.

img_0458

Have I overcome it , not quite yet , but I have come a very very very far way. Today actually calls for a little celebration , 6 months off all medication. I was weaned very slowly 6 months ago. It has gone a lot better than I envisioned. Has it been easy? NOT at all!! But everyday was a new day. I have pushed through; and everyday is a new day to give it my best .  Why no meds you ask? For me it’s a personal goal and a personal effort to be weaned off these chemicals, as I wasn’t on any before 2012, and have been on them for 4 years, I thought it was time to take hold of mind, my anxiety, my fears and give it a good shot. Where has my help come from , inner strength from my Lord above, prayers, deep positive thoughts, exercise, water, rescue, BrainFood by mindset, omegas, lists, good friends, sleep and oodles of talking to oneself.

img_4371

I attempted it last year and after a few days, I knew the time wasn’t right and attempted it a year later , and so far so good. Not easy, but good.

Where it all began –  I have attached the links for you to read , as I actually cannot bring myself to remember those early days, or even bring myself to write them out again. I think I might just cry at the thought of what I actually went through and guilt might just set in, which shouldn’t because it wasn’t me, it was a little imbalance , which needed a bit of help and look at me now ! A winner , a mommy who adores her little one soooo much. An overcomer !

img_7644

The very beginning : https://overcomingmom.wordpress.com/2014/12/07/the-very-beginning/

The middle Journey : https://overcomingmom.wordpress.com/2014/12/07/the-middle-journey/

The light begins to shine : https://overcomingmom.wordpress.com/2014/12/07/the-light-to-the-journey/

That’s  the early days in a nutshell.

I run a mommy blog for this sole purpose of keeping the real world of parenting, momming, life, love, positive days, God , help, care , advice and purpose.

Email me at overcomingmom@gmail.com

Follow me on https://m.facebook.com/overcomingmom/ : Facebook

kim_ingpen_overcomingmom  : Instagram

https://overcomingmom.wordpress.com  My blog 

img_4545

In closing, I just want to take a moment to thank Kim for being so open, for sharing so much about this challenging journey she has lived through and encountered, and for heading back there to share with you so that you know that this is something that you CAN overcome!

I think that these are great reads for ALL moms, and for family members of a mother who has PND, because I truly believe that you need to get a glimpse into what they are feeling, and the major challenges that they are encountering! I feel that we are so quick to judge moms, and we actually cannot even begin to fathom what they are going through just by looking at them. Motherhood IS challenging, we struggle, we make mistakes, and there are many of us who do all of this WITH PND. I also wanted to remind you that Dads can also have Postnatal Depression. It IS a real thing.

I hope that you have enjoyed this very insightful and honest read by Kim. Share this with friends of yours who this may be relevant to, and let me know your thoughts in the comments.

-One Modern Mom x

3 thoughts on “Postnatal Depression – The Real Deal

Leave a Reply

