Q&A With Josie Photography

Before I even get started, I want to introduce you to the wonderful Josie! A supermom to Fraternal twins and an absolutely amazing photographer. I have welcomed Josie with open arms to my little blog family. I am not a photographer, and desperately needed a right hand woman to join me in capturing the moments I write about for all of you. Based in Cape Town, Josie offers all sorts of packages to families – Maternity, Newborn, Childrens Portrait sessions as well as a lovely idea ‘A Year In The Life of…’

Coming from a models background and having done loads of research within the industry, and being a parent who really appreciates frequent updated photos of my little boy and myself, I can confidently say that her sessions are affordable and easy on the pocket.

Read further to find out just a little bit more about Josie and her family.

11072681_10155518506575543_2570649668919137717_n

Q&A With Josie // Owner of Josie Photograph

1.Tell us a little bit about yourself & your family life.

I’m a farm girl at heart, having grown up on an apple farm in Elgin.  I love being barefoot,  the sound of the wind through the trees, the soft touch of raindrops on my skin and how bright the stars are away from the city lights.  So, after marrying my husband we embarked on what was probably the biggest adventure of my life when we moved to New York city for two years.  What a way to start off our life together, making memories in the Big Apple.  But South Africa is home, and when we were ready to start our family we knew that we wanted to raise our children in Cape Town.  And 3.5 years ago we were blessed with the arrival of Abigail and Christian to complete our little family.  The weeks are busy, but we try to make the most of our time together on the weekends.  Saturdays can find us adventuring around our beautiful city and Sundays are usually spent relaxing at home after church in the morning.

2. What is it like being a mother to multiples? The challenges, the rewards. 

The first year was tough!  I was on semi bed rest from 20 weeks and our babies arrived at 31 weeks and spent the first 7 weeks of their lives in the NICU.  When they came home our life was ruled by their routine.  It was challenging and at times it seemed relentless.   We often joked that because there were always two of them we really didn’t know any other way and so it’s hard to compare it to having a singleton.  But once we were through that first year, everything changed.  And it has been the most amazing privilege watching these two little people develop into individuals with such distinct personalities and traits, yet with the closest bond and so much love between them.

3.What inspired you to start taking photos for a living?

I started taking photos when we were living in New York.  We just had a little point and shoot camera and I would spend hours walking around the city capturing the sights.   When we returned to South Africa, Earl surprised me with a fancy camera for Christmas and my hobby grew.  A friend then asked me to photograph her wedding and I absolutely loved it!  That was the first time I started to think about photography as more than just a hobby.  Then the kids came along, my priorities changed and the only time I hauled out my camera was to take photos of them in an attempt to document their first year.  But I didn’t do a very good job of it, missing milestones and not quite doing their monthly shoot on their actual birth date.  My own frustration at not having perfectly documented that time inspired me to create a package for other moms where I would capture their baby’s first 12 months.  And so my “Year In The Life Of …” package was born and my hobby turned into something more.

4.How old were you when you realized that you actually had a talent for photography?

I’m not sure when I realised that I had a talent for photography, but I clearly recall the moment I realised that photographs had the ability to capture so much more than just a picture. I think I was 14 years old and my parents and I were on holiday in the Garden Route.  While walking through the forest, I asked them both to stand and pose for me with the sea behind them.  My dad wrapped his arms around my mom in a great big hug and they both burst out laughing as I took the shot.  That was when I realised that photographs weren’t just images, but that they could capture memories and emotions.  My dad died 3 years ago, but whenever I see that photo that sits in a frame in my mom’s house I can hear their laughter and feel the love between them.

5.Do you have a hard drive overflowing with beautiful photos of your kids and family?

I do!!  And sadly, I haven’t printed nearly enough of them.

6.It is clear that you have a passion for capturing the surreal moments of childhood – why has this become your chosen division to photograph?

I recently started doing these children’s portrait sessions and I absolutely love them!  There is something so special about capturing the innocence and magic of childhood.  Now that I’ve got my own kids, I’m realising just how quickly the time goes by and creating these images is a way of stopping the clock a little.  I especially love the portrait sessions that bring moms into the picture.  Moms often say that they have heaps of photos of their kids, but none that include them.  One day when your kids look back at the memories of their childhood, they’re going to want you in the pictures too.  It’s such a special memory to create together that can be cherished forever.

7.Out of the sessions that you offer on your website, which is your favourite to photograph?

That’s a tough one to answer.  Each session brings its own uniqueness and allows me to tap into different aspects of my creativity.

8.Each photo shoot tells its own story. Which has been your favourite to photograph since you started Josie Photography, and why?

Being a photographer offers you a brief glimpse into the lives of the people you photograph and allows you to capture part of their story.  It’s hard to single out a specific photo session.  I have loved capturing the first year of my Year in the Life of subjects.  To be part of these little peoples’ first 12 months and to literally watch how they grow and reach their milestones is very special.  And a really cool spin-off that I didn’t expect at all is the friendships I made along the way with their moms.  I recently photographed my sister-in-law and my niece and nephew and there was something very special about creating these special memories for them.  I think that shoot will stand out for me for a long time.

9.Have you ever thought about possibly doing wedding packages?

I actually started out doing wedding photography.  But once the kids were born, I decided to move away from weddings because they are so time consuming and weekend time for us is all about family time together.

10.Where do you see Josie Photography in 2 years?

It has taken me a while to figure out what my niche is and so I don’t think there will be any major changes in the near future.  I would like to continue focusing on maternity, newborn and portrait sessions and to grow in that area and to continue doing what I love and feeling as inspired by it as I do right now.

11.Three interesting facts about yourself that most people don’t know?

  • I was in my 30s when I first went to university to do my undergrad degree.
  • I have bungee jumped off Bloukrans (and I’ll probably never do it again!)
  • I’ve completed two half marathons

12.How do you juggle family life with being a working mom?

I have a great support system with Earl always ready to watch the kids if I need to do a shoot on the weekend and during the week the kids’ amazing nanny, Tarisayi, looks after them when I need to do a shoot.  I usually do my editing and admin in the evenings once the kids are asleep.

13.Some words of encouragement to a photographer starting out in the industry.

Learn as much as you can from others, but develop your individual style and find your own niche.

14.What can we expect from Josie Photography in the next 6 months?

I have some interesting projects and collaborations lined up so watch this space!  I am loving the portrait sessions with mothers and their children and am excited to see where that might lead me.

15.Which social media platforms do you use? Where do you post most frequently?

I use Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.  I post to Facebook most.

Links to the following social media platforms:

-Website:   http://www.josiephotogrpahy.co.za
-Instagram: josiephotocpt
-Facebook:  http://www.facebook.com/josiephotographysa

 

Leave a Reply

